Nigerian Population Commission website hacked!!!

16 Sep
Nigerian Population Commission website hacked!

Nigerian Population Commission website hacked!

As if to answer my current muse on the state of cybersecurity in Nigeria, I turned up at the office and what did I discover from a google search for updated Nigerian statistics? The Nigerian Population Commission site at http://www.population.gov.ng (dont go there, by the way) has been taken down by some hackers and filled with links to all what not!

I am currently running some analytics to get a bit of a history on the attack and will update this information very soon. I think as a nation, we need to do something serious about this. A little while ago, rumour had it that one of the newspapers was taken down (won’t quote, I have no facts on this).

As a matter of urgency, the government might want to consider putting a ban on websites that do not meet stringent security requirements. While this can never solve the problem of cyber attacks altogether, it will be a step towards showing that if its not gonna be done right, it should not be done at all.

Think about the effect that routing of emails through Nigerian IPs has had on our national image as glorified 419ers. Like my friend used to say, oh gosh, oh gosh gosh.

I have resorted not to complaining about Nigeria unless a solution is being recommended, but at the same time, I cannot help but notice how alot of MDAs and Parastatals spend millions on website contracts while they really dont even need or have the capacity to utilise their web presence.

No website at all is better than a poorly run and managed (and secured) one. True for private sector establishments, truer for Government.

One Response to “Nigerian Population Commission website hacked!!!”

  1. Didi October 15, 2009 at 9:29 am #

    Thanks for the info…
    I was trying to reach NPC website and was wondering why i was getting a warning msg.
    kip up d good work.

Leave a comment